Kale Salad with Raw Vinaigrette

I am one of the many who love kale. I only discovered it about a year ago when I kept reading recipes for massaged kale salads and decided to give it a go. It was awesome!

Only problem is, I live in a smallish town and the local Coles doesn’t tend to stock kale. The grocer’s used to until one day it suddenly dissapeared. I kept asking for it and they kept telling me it was unavailable. Being the normal indulged modern foodie, I was unused to not being able to get whatever produce I wanted 12 months of the year. Seasons? Meh! This is 2012!

So you can imagine my thrill when I stumbled across bunch after bunch of organic curly kale at the local market. I bought 2 bunches right there and have been adding it to all my cooking since! Last night was tempah scramble with lots of kale (I’ll add that recipe eventually) and today is was a huge kale salad.

I started off stripping the kale of it’s stems and ripping it into bite sized pieces as I went. I washes and spun it dry, then massaged it with a little salt until it wilted right down. Then I added some tomato, red capsicum, fat-free sundried tomatoes, avocado, cucumber and about 1/4 cup of chickpeas. It looked quite pretty!

Then I massaged in my Raw Vinaigrette and added a little chopped red onion. I had a huge bowl full of it and it’s left me feeling really satisfied.

I hope you’ll give kale salad a try if you haven’t already. It’s awesome!

Raw Vinaigrette (serves 6)

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
2-3 tbs of coconut oil, melted
2 cloves of garlic
1 tbs tahini
2-3 tbs low-sodium tamari
2-3 tbs maple syrup

Place all the ingredients in a jar and shake them up!

I give you the options to adjust the vinaigrette with 2-3 tbs choices so you can make it saltier, sweeter etc. Normal olive oil can replace the coconut oil but the coconut oil does give it a beautiful flavour!

Stay awesome x

Leave a Reply

