Welcoming in the New Year…

Green Salad with Balsamic

Wow, just looked at the last time I posted and saw it’s been over a month! So sorry to any people who read my humble little blog. I can say I have a reason – my laptop died on me and had to go to my brother to be fixed so I was without internet for a few weeks! I almost died and have spent the last week since I got it back, catching up on all my favourite blogs like Carrie on Vegan and Choosing Raw and various others.

So, I hope everyone had a good Christmas and New Year? As I spoke about in my last post, I ended up having the family over to my place on Christmas Day. It was only immediate family, so there was only five of us for lunch. Plus, I was super organised so it ended up being a really stress free day for me. Usually when I host Christmas I stress out and plan way to many dishes and only end up producing half of them! Instead, I made up a big batch of Carrie on Vegan’s Lemony Brown Rice and Lentil Salad the evening before and just gave it a fresh squeeze of lemon before I served it. I made a big green salad with a balsamic dressing (a small portion is picture above!) plus a potato bake which was about 80% vegan (I used soy milk and some soy cheese but it didn’t melt well so I added a little of Tom’s cheddar on the top). I also made up some vegetable kebabs which I marinated in olive oil, lemon, oregano and garlic. Tom cooked these on the barbeque and was very good because he cooked them first before he grilled all the meat.

Yes, there was meat at my table. Unfortunately, with a very old fashioned mother-in-law, there had to be. But Tom organised all that and I was thrilled that almost everyone tried my vegetable kebabs and loved them! 🙂

One of the lovely things about having Christmas during Summer here, is having access to all these amazing fruits and other produce. I made a massive fruit salad in the morning and served it up after lunch with the option of whipped cream. Everyone loved it and it was such a nice end to the meal, rather than a heavy cheesecake or pudding. Plus it meant I didn’t have to consume dairy if I didn’t want to!

Fruit Salad

There’s so much I could catch up on but I’ll keep it short and sweet for now. Suffice to say, despite my best efforts, I did fall off the wagon a little over the holiday period. I ate to much, I drank to much and I even had a few ciggarettes. Yes, readers, I am an ex-smoker who occasionally lapses when she drinks too much. It flies in the face of everything I stand for about healthful eating and nourishing our bodies and I dearly would love to completely kick the habit. As I said before, I’m not perfect. Hopefully 2013 will be the year to kick that!

So, because of my debauchery over the holidays, I’ve started a juice/salad fast. I only started yesterday but so far I’m feeling awesome. I’ve found it relatively easy to get my head around the ‘liquid meal’ idea and the fact I’m still having one salad a day helps a lot. I got given a juicer for Christmas (at last!) so thought that was a good reason to finally try a juice fast. Yes, I’m cheating mildly by having salads, but I’m working night shift this week and really need that something extra.

That’s all for now. I’ll update soon with some of the great juice recipes I’ve been creating plus I’m also working on a peanut butter sauce that’s been a big hit with Tom when dipping it cold rolls into it and I thought maybe I could thin it into a salad dressing. I’ll have a play and see how it goes!

Happy New Year to you all. What are your resolutions or goals for 2013?

Stay awesome x

Leave a Reply

